Diné College Libraries: Citing Sources: Chicago Style

Chicago Manual

The Chicago Manual of Style by University of Chicago Staff (Editor) **The 16th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been superseded by the 17th edition.** While digital technologies have revolutionized the publishing world in the twenty-first century, one thing still remains true: The Chicago Manual of Style is the authoritative, trusted source that writers, editors, and publishers turn to for guidance on style and process. For the sixteenth edition, every aspect of coverage has been reconsidered to reflect how publishing professionals work today. Though processes may change, the Manual continues to offer the clear, well-considered style and usage advice it has for more than a century. The sixteenth edition offers expanded information on producing electronic publications, including web-based content and e-books. An updated appendix on production and digital technology demystifies the process of electronic workflow and offers a primer on the use of XML markup, and a revised glossary includes a host of terms associated with electronic as well as print publishing. The Chicago system of documentation has been streamlined and adapted for a variety of online and digital sources. Figures and tables are updated throughout the book--including a return to the Manual's popular hyphenation table and new, comprehensive listings of Unicode numbers for special characters.
Call Number: Z253 .U69 2010
ISBN: 9780226104201
Publication Date: 2010-08-01

Chicago Style Online Guides

Writer's Handbook: Chicago Style Documentation Guide
From the Writing Center, University of Wisconsin - Madison
Chicago Manual Style Guide - Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)

Chicago Style Examples

The Chicago Manual of Style uses two different styles of documentation and citation: the humanities style which uses notes and a bibliographies, and the author-date system, which is used more frequently in the natural and social sciences.

Book: basic form, single author

Author/Date:
Webber, Michael. 2016. Thirst for Power: Energy, Water, and Human Survival. New Haven: Yale University Press.

Notes and Bibliographies:
Webber, Michael. Thirst for Power: Energy, Water, and Human Survival. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2016.

Book: basic form, two authors

Author/Date:
Holmes, Richard T, and Gene E. Likens. 2016. Hubbard Book: The Story of a Forest Ecosystem. New Haven: Yale University Press.

Notes and Bibliographies:
Holmes, Richard T, and Gene E. Likens. Hubbard Book: The Story of a Forest Ecosystem. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2016.

Chapter in Edited work

Author/Date:
Meyer, Sabine N. 2016. "The Marshall Trilogy and Its Legacies." In The Routledge Companion to Native American Literature, edited by Deborah L. Madsen, 123-134. New York: Routledge.

Notes and Bibliographies:
Meyer, Sabine N. "The Marshall Trilogy and Its Legacies." In The Routledge Companion to Native American Literature, edited by Deborah L. Madsen, 123-134. New York: Routledge, 2016.

Journal Article

Author/Date:
Biswas, Soumendu, V. N. Giri, and Kailash B. L. Srivastava. 2007. "Assessing the Impact of Organizational Culture and Communication on Employee Performance and Organizational Effectiveness." Psychological Studies 52 (1): 20-28.

Notes and Bibliographies:
Biswas, Soumendu, V. N. Giri, and Kailash B. L. Srivastava. "Assessing the Impact of Organizational Culture and Communication on Employee Performance and Organizational Effectiveness." Psychological Studies 52, no. 1 (2007): 20-28.

Magazine or Newspaper Article

Author/Date:
Reiter, Ben. 2015. "Brain Trust. (Cover Story)." Sports Illustrated 123 (25): 29-34.

Notes and Bibliographies:
Reiter, Ben. "Brain Trust. (Cover Story)." Sports Illustrated 123, no. 25 (2015): 29-34.

For more Reference List examples visit the Chicago Style Quick Citation Guide.